Colourpop “Yes Please” Palette Review

First of all, I would just like to congratulate myself for finally being able to get this palette before it sold out. I missed out on it twice. TWICE.

IMG-8268

I was practically waiting by my doorstep for this palette and the new Colourpop Concealer (which is ah-mazing, by the way) to arrive. Besides the fact that this was my third attempt to get my hands on this palette, I’d yet to try the Colourpop pressed powder eyeshadow formula. Also, warm red eyeshadows are kind of my thing.


Packaging and Pricing

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The palette is placed in a very bright yellow “Yes Please” packaging box, underneath which is the actual palette that ever-so-kindly reminds us that this palette is “Cute AF”.

Packaging is usually very important to me, for aesthetic and practical reasons, and I was pleasantly surprised with this design. It was simple and “Cute AF”. Also, I really appreciate the magnetic stripe that framed the palette, which allows me to close it securely without worrying about the colors tumbling around my bag everywhere. Nice touch, especially for a product that retails at $16.


Swatches

 

yespleaseswatch

Colourpop “Yes Please” Palette Swatches

 

The colors that immediately stood out to me when swatching were the shimmers. They were noticeably more softly-packed than the matte shades and had a similar color payoff to the fan-favorite Colourpop Super Shock Shadows.

Let’s keep in mind that this swatch is one swipe on my arm using my fingers. No primer. No assistance. It’s usually very difficult to get eyeshadow colors to show up properly on my skin tone, but these shimmer shades were incredibly smooth for the price. Also, I tend to have an issue with light shades. Most colors above a medium toned beige tend to completely disappear on my eyes. I was surprised to see that the light shades carried the same pigmentation

Also, I tend to have an issue with light shades. Most colors above a medium toned beige tend to completely disappear on my eyes. I was surprised to see that the light shades carried the same pigmentation on my eyes that they did on my arm. No ashy crease! (I’m looking at you, Maybelline).

This palette has a total of 12 shades (4 shimmers and 8 mattes) and they ALL showed up on my skin tone (except for Note To Self, which happens to be my skin tone). That shouldn’t be a big deal, but a lot of eyeshadows don’t work that well for women of color. In my experience, this palette is WOC approved.


Final Thoughts – 4/5

I was expecting a good palette, especially since I was snubbed two times in a row, and I was not disappointed.

I really like the Colourpop Pressed Shadow formula. The shades were smooth and soft and never lost pigmentation when placed on the eyes. I did a wear test with two shades, Spoiled and Big Cocktails, yesterday using the Colourpop Concealer as a base. After 12 hours, the color was still there, bright as ever.

Overall, I really do like this palette. When I say this, I don’t mean that this is a good palette “for the price”. This is actually a solid product. (Did I mention that it’s a dupe for the Natasha Denona Sunset Palette? Because it’s a dupe for the Natasha Denona Sunset Palette).

 

Leave a Reply

