Summer Skincare Routine for Oily Skin

I always say that skincare is the most important step to a makeup routine. After all, how can you expect to do great work if you neglect your canvas?

During the summer, I’m guilty of becoming a little lazy, but it’s important to never neglect your personal and physical health. During the summer I try to keep my skincare routine basic and light because, well, it’s summer. Nobody has time for all of that extra stuff. Or maybe I’m just lazier than I thought…

Anyway, here’s the skincare routine that I have created after years of struggling with acne and oily skin. My skin isn’t completely clear quite yet (hyperpigmentation will be the death of me), but my acne has dramatically decreased, and my skin is no longer a greaseball of oil. If you want to see how I did that, then keep reading!

Before I start, I want to say that you can “neglect” your canvas and have any different skin type. Just because your skin is clear doesn’t mean it’s healthy, and vice versa. There IS a genetic component to the skin, and everyone is different.

Morning Routine

Facial Cleanser

In the morning, I always start off with a facial cleanser.

IMG_8108

Even though I already washed my face the night before, dirt can collect on your skin from the air, your sheets, your soul, et cetera. Based on my experience, I think that the best facial cleansers are the lightest ones, meaning those purely used to cleanse the face. Products that claim to clean and fight acne never seem to work long term for me because, for example, salicylic acid can’t do much for my skin if I only leave it on for 2 minutes.

For my facial cleanser, I’ve been using Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Daily Cleanser: Foaming Formula.  I prefer the foaming formula because, at night, it helps to break down any leftover makeup. Don’t take this bottle on flights, though. I learned that the hard way.

Moisturizer

After I cleanse my face, I always, ALWAYS use a moisturizer.
IMG_8107I wish someone had told me this sooner, but just because you have oily skin, doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t moisturize! In fact, your skin may be producing excess oil to compensate for the lack of moisture in your skin.

I’m no dermatologist,  but I can tell you that after I started moisturizing twice a day, my greaseball oily skin turned into combination skin, almost normal. I use the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel as a moisturizer because the Gel formula is recommended for those with oily skin. Also, I saw a girl in my dorm freshman year use this and her skin was perfect (I’m a copycat).

Sunscreen

IMG_8100

Everyone needs sunscreen. EVERYONE needs sunscreen. Growing up as a woman of color, I always thought that I could skip this step. After all, I’d never been

sunburned before, and I naively thought that “my melanin would protect me”. No, honey, it won’t. The sun is the devil. Protect yourself. I use Neutrogena Clear Face Sunscreen, but I usually interchange the sunscreens that I use. Keep in mind that I use sunscreen all year, not just in the summer. The sun doesn’t just disappear in September, folks.

 

 

Night Routine

Exfoliate


IMG_8103

At night, I begin with the same steps from my morning routine. I wash my face with the same Neutrogena Facial Cleanser. But remember what I said about how this cleanser is ONLY to clean your skin, and how I needed an acne treatment that stayed on my face for longer than two minutes? Well, here’s my answer to that dilemma. I’ve been using Formula 10.0.6 Totally Clean Anti-Blemish Pads with 2% salicylic acid every night after I wash my face. Since I’ve been using exfoliating pads, my skin has dramatically changed for the better. This brand is my personal favorite, just because of the smell and the texture of the pads, but you can also use Stridex or Noxzema pads for the same effect.

Final Touches

After exfoliation, you can use a spot treatment for any problem areas. I haven’t been using any spot treatments, so after exfoliating, I moisturize again with my Clinique Moisturizing Gel.


IMG_8104

After moisturizing, I’ve been spraying my face with Mario Badescu Rose Water spray. To be completely honest, I haven’t noticed a dramatic difference in my skin after using this product. But it feels nice, and I feel a little special when I spray rose water on my face, so I’m probably going to keep doing it.

 

So that’s all I do for my skincare routine. As I said before, I’m no dermatologist, so I’m not sure if this is the “correct” order to take care of your skin. But as of now, this routine has worked for me, and I hope that it helps some of you!

Leave a Reply

